The ability to add multiple users in Windows 10, is also present in older versions of the OS. While Windows 10 does prompt you to create your user account using your Microsoft ID, you can also create local accounts. However, if you have one or more user accounts no one needs anymore, it’s a good idea to remove them.
It’s easy to delete a user in Windows 10, and removing the unneeded accounts will quickly free up some storage space.
How to delete a user in Windows 10
The first thing you need to do is navigate to Settings -> Accounts. Select “Family & other people” in the left pane.
All the other users except the one you’re currently signed into will be displayed here. Select the one you want to remove then click the “Remove” button.
Windows might prompt you to enter the administrator password. If the Remove button is greyed out or doesn’t show up at all, make sure you’re signed into the administrator account and give it another try.
A pop-up window will warn you that removing the user account will also delete all the data it contains. Keep in mind this only affects the libraries for that user, such as Photos, Music, Documents and so on. It won’t delete data from other folders. With that taken into account, click the “Delete account and data”. This will remove that user right away.
It’s also worth mentioning there is no “undo” option for this action. Once you remove a user, it stays that way.
You should also know Windows 10 doesn’t allow you to delete all user accounts. If you want to create a new user for yourself and remove your old user account you must first create the second account and transfer administrative permissions to it. Only then will you be able to delete your initial account. Also, you can’t delete the user you’re currently logged into.